Elite Star Marketing scammers change name

Just a quick note about the scamming fake job agency, Elite Star Marketing — who target people who are looking for new, better jobs (everyone) and try to solicit their account information through credit checks — they have changed their names to “Impact Media Drive.” Stupidly they forgot to change the browser header title on their website (once you get past the first page, that is).

Here is the letter I got from them with the subject “Omar CREATIVE WRITERS.” (Hmmm, they must do their research! Or just send out their research-bots.)

Note: the letter I was sent was pull of spaces in between every other letter (eg: “Thank yo u f o r your interest in the po si t io n at our firm”) presumably to avoid Google checks. But in order to help both my Googling brethren who have the time to remove the spaces and those who don’t, I’m posting the letter twice.

Thank yo u f o r your interest in the po si t io n at our firm. A li t t le more information about us: As a re c en t ly founded and ra p id ly growing ma rk e ti ng fi r m, we ho pe to fo s te r a f u n y et efficient environment fo r ou r new e m pl oy ee s. U nl ik e other co m pa ni es, we be l ie v e an e as y g o in g and f r i e n dl y at m os ph e r e is facilitative to qu al it y and actually i n cr ea s e s pr o du ct i vi ty. To be co ns i d er e d, candidates must p os se s s s tr on g co m mu n i c a t io n/interpersonal sk il ls, th e ab i l it y t o interact wi t h p eo p le at al l l e ve ls of th e f ir m, an d excellent organizational s ki l ls. Candidates must be self st a rt er s and b e ab le to un d e rt a ke r e sp o n s i b i l i ti e s w it h l i m it e d supervision. T h e y must also be a b l e to multi-task, an d have a w or k in g knowledge o f M S Of fi ce. Familiarity w i th ot he r ty pe s of software is a p l u s. O ur po l ic y is to gr o w and maintain a l on g l as ti n g and m u t ua ll y be ne f ic i al business re l at io ns h i p w i th ou r e mp lo y e es. In keeping with that standard, our firm offers a comprehensive benefits pa c ka ge th a t i s se c on d to no n e. In addition, we pa y our employees higher th an any co m pe t i to r i n this i n du st r y. Compensation wi l l be fu r th e r d is c us se d during the i n te rv ie w  p ro c es s, af t e r r ev i ew in g ca n d i da te ap pl ic at io n s.  Please take a few mo m e nt s t o fi l l out ou r online a p p l i ca ti o n b y cl ic k i ng on th e ‘apply’ l i n k be lo w. APPLY HERE. H R Staffing

* * *

Thank you for your interest in the position at our firm. A little more information about us: As a recently founded and rapidly growing marketing firm, we hope to foster a fun yet efficient environment for our new employees. Unlike other companies, we believe an easy going and friendly atmosphere is facilitative to quality and actually increases productivity. To be considered, candidates must possess strong communication/interpersonal skills, the ability to interact with people at all levels of the firm, and excellent organizational skills. Candidates must be self starters and be able to undertake responsibilities with limited supervision. They must also be able to multi-task, and have a working knowledge o f MS Office. Familiarity with other types of software is a plus. Our policy is to grow and maintain a long lasting and mutually beneficial business relationship with our employees. In keeping with that standard, our firm offers a comprehensive benefits package that is second to none. In addition, we pay our employees higher than any competitor in this industry. Compensation will be further discussed during the interview  process, after reviewing candidate applications.  Please take a few moments to fill out our online application by clicking on the ‘apply’ link be low. APPLY HERE. HR Staffing

Tags: , ,

42 Responses to “Elite Star Marketing scammers change name”

  1. james Says:

    I got a similar email on my gmail. Worded exactly the same. My subject said “Re: James Application-Recreation Worker”

    Of course I don’t what position I applied for that resulted in this, so I can’t mark it spam. The email was sent from a gmail account, so at least I can flag it.

  2. phil Says:

    just got this same exact message today. word for word.

  3. Steve Says:

    Thanks for the post….got the same email. The flag for me was that it was sent from a elbasadowski@htomail.com. HR departments don’t use hotmail accounts to send out company emails. It got me fishing around and I came across this. I already fell for this before and now I get a lot of junk email on my email account….VERY annoying.

  4. Ginny Says:

    I got this exact same letter today, except the subject was “name Human Resources.” The blue letters and strange spacing plus the vague language of the letter clued me in. I did a search and found this blog. Thank you for saving me time and trouble!

  5. anthony Says:

    I got the same email so I decided to research before I completely fill out the rest of the form.

  6. Erin Says:

    I got this today as well. Thanks so much!

  7. Tanda Says:

    Yep I got the same email and wondered because I never visited the website. The first email I received was from this email address shamarbruening@gmail.com

    This is the second email is below and when I did some research and googled this address they provided me it was an address to Milk & Honey, Quiznos Sub and a place called 44th Street Bagel and Bakery LLC‎. The second email I receive was from a Michelle Thomas from Human Resources What a scam!!!

    Our Human Resources Staffing Agency at
    Impact Media Drive has received Step 1
    of your submission form with a request for
    an interview regarding a job opportunity.

    Please confirm that you made this request to
    proceed with Step 2 of the job application process.

    Your request for additional information
    has been received. Please confirm it by
    clicking the following link:

    http://getresponse.com/confirm.html?x=a62b&sq=B3tXy&y=y&

    Your request will be processed
    immediately upon your confirmation.

    You will be able to unsubscribe
    or change your details at any time.

    If you have received this email in
    error and do not intend to receive
    information from us, no further
    action is required on your part.

    You won’t receive further
    information and you won’t be
    subscribed to any list until you
    confirm your request above.

    Michelle Thomas
    HR Staffing Manager
    Impact Media Drive

    IMD (Headquarters)
    22 WEST 45 STREET SUITE 125 New York, NY, 10036
    United States

  8. Kate Says:

    Bull-Hunky! I got this today too…I wonder how whoever did this got the email addresses? The gmail address is what ticked me off the most. Stinks because I was waiting for a response back from CMU for an “admin” job and that was the subject of this email:(:(

  9. Aaron Says:

    Received one this morning myself. Mine did not, however, have the unusual spacing. It was for a media and marketing job. Since I am an entertainment writer, I at first though that it was from a job I ight have applied for a year agao and forgotten about. The Gmail address made me suspicious.

  10. Suzi Says:

    I just received a letter from them today too for an Executive Assistant position. It has been about a month or so since I’ve searched for jobs with that title.

  11. Monica Says:

    Well, I’m not at all surprised that this was Bull-Hunky. I don’t know how I got so lucky but I receive a lot of these kind of things. Having been duped before (8 months of unemployment will do that), I immediately went in search for info on this most promising offer! Gasp! It’s Bull-Hunky (now my favorite derogatory description of almost everything). Most imporantly, however, was the discovery of this website. It’s great to have a place to turn when I need to de-bunk those too good to be true job offers. Plus, it’s great to just vent! Thanks. You provide an invaluable service! And love your tag line, too!

  12. Josh Says:

    Your Are the MAN! You’re all over these guys. I got an email for an HR department @11:30 pm on a Friday night. (late night huh?) Almost word for word from yours. These clowns wrote w/ the subject RE: Josh Resume //The actual saved name of my resume in word document(Josh Resume). From brandicelittrell@gmail.com. Not only does the name sound ridiculous; I’ve never applied for a marketing position. Thanks for cluing me in on the scam.

  13. Sussan Says:

    I applied to a position on Craig’s List and received the same response. Thanks for the update!

  14. Karen Says:

    Same here, received exact same email. I’m generally VERY careful to which jobs I apply. I recently did apply to one I was somewhat unsure about, but figured I give it a try, and then I got a suspicious response.

    It looked WAY to generic, so that tipped me off from the start, so there was no way I was going to click on “Apply Here.” by the way, I never click on those things. I hover the mouse over it and look for the link in the bottom, left corner. Then in a separate brower page, I go to the main domain site and check it out that way. HA! Yeah, it looks rather dubious.

    It took me just a couple of minutes to search around and find this place and confirm my suspicions. GOOD JOB, PEOPLE!

  15. Shannon Says:

    Got same email just now. Thanks for the heads up!

  16. Paola Says:

    I got the same email…

  17. Jenni Says:

    Thanks for putting this out there. Now I know it is BS.

  18. Sheri Says:

    I also received the same e-mail, except it was signed with an email address of impactmediadrive.com instead of hotmail.com

    After further investigation, I found the following information about this company, the website was just made on 11-15-09, 5 days ago. If anyone else has any further information, please reply on this website.

    Domain impactmediadrive.com

    Date Registered: 2009-11-15
    Date Modified: 2009-11-15
    Expiry Date: 2010-11-16

    DNS1: ns-canada.topdns.com
    DNS2: ns-usa.topdns.com
    DNS3: ns-uk.topdns.com

    Registrant
    Private Whois Service
    *******PLEASE DO NOT SEND LETTERS******
    ****Contact the owner by email only****
    c/o impactmediadrive.com
    N4892 Nassau
    Bahamas

    Administrative Contact
    Private Whois Service
    Private Whois Service
    *******PLEASE DO NOT SEND LETTERS******
    ****Contact the owner by email only****
    c/o impactmediadrive.com
    N4892 Nassau
    Bahamas
    Tel: +852.81720004

    Technical Contact
    Private Whois Service
    Private Whois Service
    *******PLEASE DO NOT SEND LETTERS******
    ****Contact the owner by email only****
    c/o impactmediadrive.com
    N4892 Nassau
    Bahamas
    Tel: +852.81720004

    Registrar: Internet.bs Corp.
    Registrar’s Website : http://www.internetbs.net/</a

    Thank you,

    Sheri

  19. Dr Cass Phillips Says:

    Thanks for this alert. I got one today from this gmail address.
    Ronnisha Teer

  20. T Says:

    Has anyone had any problems after their credit was pulled or with their banking? Now that I allowed them to pull my credit I am really worried!!

  21. Tiffany Says:

    Ugh…I knew it was too good to be true. I applied for a job from craigslist, got the same song and dance from brianasinclair49@hotmail.com. However, the “company” is now using the name Get Marketing, Inc. and the fake position I applied for was a a project coordinator.

  22. watch gossip girl online Says:

    Thanks thanks thanks! I was looking for something along lines of this for hours and couldn’t find it. Will definitely drop a word about this site.
    Cheers

  23. mtgpmt Says:

    You wouldnt believe it but I’ve spent most of the day searching for this info.

  24. ridwanzero Says:

    Hello…… I also received the same e-mail, except it was signed with an email address of impactmediadrive.com instead of hotmail.com

    After further investigation, I found the following information about this company, the website was just made on 11-15-09, 5 days ago. If anyone else has any further information, please reply on this website.

    onlineuniversalwork

  25. Casey Petrin Says:

    great insight keep it up 😛 i will visit ur site daily if i want to design site like yours i wonder how long it will take me

  26. Lavern Crisco Says:

    With the constant bombardment of sales messages, people are becoming less patient with reading long sales copy unless you can hook them into it. Youve heard the expression that a picture is worth a thousand words. A video can be worth ten thousand words! It can be the best way to hook your viewer in to reading your sales letter. Here is a great piece of software every business should own. Just enter some text. Choose a virtual character. Push a button, and you instantly get an exclusive, professional quality video like this! for your company to post on your website or some place like youtube.

  27. matt nathanson fan Says:

    This was interesting.

  28. Micro Niche Tool Says:

    Some good info! Appreciated.Thanks a lot and best wishes from Germany!

  29. Elanor Hattley Says:

    This blog is impressive, any tips or tricks you recommend?

  30. Joanne Vendt Says:

    This post is really the freshest on this valuable topic. I agree with your viewpoints and will eagerly look forward to your future updates. Saying thanks will not just be enough, for the extraordinary clarity in your writing. I will right away grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates. Great work and best of luck in your website promotion!

  31. Ariana Says:

    I got an email for a “assistant” position from Media Impact Marketing Human Resources or something like that. I don’t understand why people would do this, EVERYONE is looking for jobs and spending alot of time looking for jobs and filling out applications. If they are looking for a job, apparently they need money and people are trying to take that away from them? People these days! Thanks for the info!

  32. Andrew C. Sailer Says:

    Hey, Love the post! Keep it up, I will definatley be coming back soon!! =)

  33. Leonel Tork Says:

    Thank you for your help!,very interesting post.

  34. Alfred Sires Says:

    I must admit this is the second time I have read your blog and I am diggin it! I added your blog to my rss reader. Cant wait to see more updates!

  35. Mariette Newsome Says:

    your post.

  36. Ted Skaff Says:

    I like the layout of your blog and I’m going to do the same thing for mine. Do you have any tips? Please PM ME on yahoo @ AmandaLovesYou702

  37. Euna Browing Says:

    [..] A little unrelated, but I quite simply liked this webpage post [..]

  38. Zack Behring Says:

    Great post, thanks a lot 😀

  39. bahamas cruise Says:

    Thanks for worth information

  40. Freddie Says:

    Sarah Palin dosen’t possess a snowfall balls probability in hell, Way Likewise A lot Detest From the Pigs For your Still left

  41. فيصل عمر طيب Says:

    مككن الاشتراك في البرنامج ممكن يكون باللغه العربية

  42. affiliate marketing, marketing scam Says:

    You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality sites online. I am going to recommend this website!

Leave a Reply

